publicsafety contacts alumni bookstore library calendar home
  Student Life
   

 

STUDENT LIFE

There's more to College than the Classroom! 

 

 

Clubs & Organizations

 

Outdoor Quad

 

 

                                                  ALLIED HEALTH 


Student Nurses Association
(SNA) Membership is required of all students accepted and currently enrolled in the ADN program.  The association focuses on community health awareness,
leadership skills, and professional issues.

Sponsors:  Esther Blum eblum@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2175
                chutches@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2241



MO. State Association of Licensed Practical Nurses (MO SALPN)

Membership is required of all students accepted and enrolled in the Practical Nursing program. The organization motivates its members to establish, maintain, and evaluate nursing's professional standards.
Sponsor:  Pam Junge  pjunge@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2209



Student Radiology Club
Open to all students accepted and enrolled in the Radiology Program.  The organization motivates its members to establish, maintain, and provide awareness for radiology professional standards.
Sponsors:
Stacy Wilfong  swilfong@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2334
               Kara Mills klmills@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2334

 

 
       

 

                                                   

                                       BUSINESS


lub
Phi Beta Lambda
(PBL) A national organization of post-secondary students interested in pursuing a business and business-like career.  PBL members develop leadership skills, initiate business ventures, and organize community service projects.  Membership is open to all students.

Sponsors: Roger McMillian rmcmilli@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2226

                Melynda Barks mbarks@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2245

 

                                    

 

                                                 

                                                  EDUCATION


Student MO State Teachers Association (S-MSTA) Provides personal/professional growth opportunities through leadership, experience, ethics, and ideals, creating opportunities through which students observe and share the work of teachers in school and the community.

Sponsor:  Dr. Shawn Young smyoung@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2339

 

 

FINE ARTS

 

    

 

                                                  


Art Club Encourages creating art, and strives to impress in the hearts and minds of its members and the public a more profound understanding of the meaning and nature of art.  Students participate in art shows and other campus activities as well as take field trips to view work of other artists. 

Sponsor: Jim Wilson jwilson@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2303

 

National Association for Music Education (NAfME) Collegiate membership is to give students an opportunity for professional orientation and development, and to help students gain understanding of: the basic truths and principles that underlie the role of music in human life; the philosophy and function of the music education profession; the professional interests of members involved in the local, state, division, and national levels; the music industry's role in support of music education; and the knowledge and practices of the professional music educator as facilitated through chapter activity.

Sponsor:  Harry Cecil hcecil@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2230

                                                                                                             

          

Little Theatre Guild (LTG) The guild provides quality entertainment while preparing students for four-year education or employment in the performing arts. Students and community members can audition for roles or pursue their interests in directing, designing sets, costumng, or other work behind the scenes.

Sponsor:  Chuck Gallaher cgallahe@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2181

 

Delta Psi Omega A dramatic fraternity, providing a national honor society for those exhibiting a high standard of work in theatre.  As MAC students and members of the community qualify, they are rewarded by election to membership in the society and initiated in formal ceremonies at the end of the spring semester.

Sponsor:  Chuck Gallaher cgallahe@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2181

 

 

                         

 

MACFlix (Movies) This is a "fun" club for students and community members who are interested in films from the past.  The Spring semester is devoted to organizing and presenting a Classic Film Series while the Fall semester is devoted to presentation of the Classic Drive-In Series held in the campus outdoor quad.  Membership is open to all students.

Sponsor:  Dr. Kevin White kwhite@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2170

 

 

                                            HONORARY SOCIETY


Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) An international scholastic honor society for community college students. PTK's hallmarks are leadership, scholarship, service, and fellowship.  Induction into the organization requires that a student be enrolled at MAC and have completed 12 credit hours in 1000 level courses or higher with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. 

Sponsors: Dr. Amy Henson amy@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2122

                    Alison Sheets asheets@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-3820

                    Lana LaBruyere  lana@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2348


Psi Beta A national honor society in psychology for community colleges.  Psi Beta was founded to promote the development of students in psychology and other social science fields through recognition of excellence in scholarship, research, leadership and community service.

Sponsor: Richard Wadlow rwadlow@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2234

 

 

 

                      

 

MORE CLUBS and ORGANIZATIONS

 

Robotics Club The goal is to promote students’ knowledge of robotics and related fields of study while working as a team to complete fun and challenging tasks. Robotics Club focuses on projects that may apply science, mathematics, computer programming, and creative solutions to the design and production of robots.   Participants may also attend robotics competitions and events, such as MAC’s Robot and Technology Expo.  All students are welcome to participate.

Sponsor: Matt Sopko msopko@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2250

Chi Alpha A non profit, nationally recognized student group on most of the major universities in America. Chi Alpha is a weekly meeting open to students of all faiths or students with no faith. Chi Alpha is known for their fun outreaches and their small groups. For meeting times and student testimonies visit www.chialphamac.com.
Sponsors:  Jennifer Sikes jsikes@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2197

                Ellen Miller  emiller@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2207

 

 

                                

 

Cultural Awareness Club Open to all students, this club promotes interaction among students of different cultures and nationalities, encouraging students to broaden their perspectives by understanding and appreciating other languages and societies.  The club explores foreign arts, traditions, and observations during events throughout the year.

Sponsor:  Sarah Stahl sstahl@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2128

 

Veterans Organization The purpose of the Veterans Organization is to meet the needs of veterans, create an environment of inclusiveness, and provide support, guidance, and a resource for those who have served our country.  The organization serves as a network of social support and is open to all students, regardless of military status.

Sponsor:  Todd Kline tkline@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2272

 

Postsecondary Agricultural Student (PAS) This club provides an opportunity for leadership and career preparation.  All agriculture and horticulture students are encouraged to participate in state and national conferences each year where they get the opportunity to explore occupations, tour industries, network with professionals, and compete in career programs.

Sponsors: Alan Bayless abayless@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2102

                Dr. Chad Follis cfollis@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2323

 

                              

 

Student Activities Council (SAC) The council is composed of students who are responsible for planning social, cultural, educational, and recreational events open to the entire student body. There are many levels of involvement and many leadership opportunities. 

Sponsor:  Beth Mell bmell@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2193

 

Student Government Association (SGA) The official student governing board and policy making group of the student body, SGA acts as liaison among students, faculty, and administration.  Through it, students can express themselves collectively, develop leadership skills, and initiate and execute measures of civic engagements to benefit the student body and college. Full-time students are elected to SGA by their peers.

Sponsors:  Chad Majeske cmajeske@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-3827

                Jenny Majeske jmajeske@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-3821

 

 

 

 

Archery Club A chapter of the U.S. Collegiate Archery Organization that participates in indoor, outdoor, 3-D, and competitions shooting.  All levels of archers are welcome and personal equipment is not necessary to join.  Membership is open to all students on main campus who are enrolled in at least six semester hours.  The club strives to assist its members in developing skills that will enhance them both personally and professionally.

Sponsors:  Dr. Shawn Young smyoung@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2339

                Dr. Nathan Calkins ncalkins@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2325

 

 

               

 

MAC Ambassadors Ambassadors are chosen based on their outstanding personalities and academic performance to assist faculty and staff with campus events and tours.  Students who are chosen must maintain a 2.5 GPA and have good oral communication and leadership qualities.  They are selected through an application process and receive hourly compensation.

Sponsor:  Julie Sheets jsheets@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-2206

 

 

For more MAC Club and Organization information

Contact Beth Mell, Student Activities Director at 573-518-2193 or bmell@mineralarea.edu or MACStudentActivities@mineralarea.edu

 

 

Collegiate Sports

             

Men's Basketball

Women's Basketball
Men's Baseball Women's Softball
 
Men's Golf   Women's Volleyball

   

                          

 

     

                                 Residential Life

College Park

STUDENT HOUSING

Affordable, convenient, on-campus housing.  All apartments are furnished and include kitchenettes. The complex has a central laundry facility, clubhouse, computer lab, picnic pavilion, pool, and sand volleyball court.

Contact: Debi Bayless, Director  dbayless@mineralarea.edu or 573-518-1330