Physical Education Department

The Physical Education Department at Mineral Area College is an important component of the overall education provided by the college.  Most degree programs at Mineral Area College require one to two credits in physical education.  The Department offers a variety of courses that students can choose from to obtain that credit while learning key components to living a healthy lifestyle.

Wellness Center

The Wellness Center is located between the library and field house on the Park Hills Campus at Mineral Area College.  It is a first-class facility that is considered extremely user-friendly.  The Wellness Center has a wide variety of equipment, and hosts a wide variety of classes.  Students have the opportunity to use stair-steppers, stationary bicycles, recumbent bicycles, treadmills, elliptical machines, paramount strength training machines, various free-weights, all while learning cutting edge fitness concepts from the trained staff.  The Wellness Center is open for use by faculty, staff, and students enrolled in a physical education course.  Community members and Alumni can gain access to the facility by contacting Registration/Enrollment at 573-518-2126 enrolling in an audit section of Wellness I (PED270 section H).

The Wellness Center is open Monday through Thursday from 7:00 am to 8:00 pm, and Friday from 7:00 am to 4:00 pm during regularly scheduled classes.  The Center's summer hours are Monday through Thursday from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm, and Friday from 7:00 am to 4:00 pm.  The Wellness Center is closed on week-ends, holidays, in between semesters, and when MAC is closed.  Please contact the Wellness Center for additional information including hours of operation during semester breaks. 573-518-2104.

Earn your Physical Education credit online with Fit For Life!

Click here for more details.   

 

 

Faculty & Staff

Kay Crecelius

Dean of Arts & Sciences

Dean, MA

kayc@mineralarea.edu     573-518-2100

Jeremy Partney

Wellness Center Director

Physical Education Department Chair, MS

jpartney@mineralarea.edu    573-518-2104

Chad Mills

Athletic Director, Instructor

Instructor, MA

cmills@mineralarea.edu

Mark Potratz

Law Enforcement Academy Director, Basic Physical Fitness Instructor

Associate Professor, MA

mpotratz@mineralarea.edu     573-518-2308

Rich Flotron

Law Enforcement Academy, Wellness Instructor

Assistant Professor, MA

rflotron@mineralarea.edu     573-518-2341

Chris Schmitt

Law Enforcement Academy, Fundamentals of Trap and Skeet Insturctor

cschmitt@mineralarea.edu

Doug Ruess

Physical Education Instructor, MA

druess@mineralarea.edu  573-518-2199

Tony Gans

Fine Arts Department Chair, Golf Instructor

Associate Professor, MA

tony@mineralarea.edu     573-518-2344

Jerry Whitehurst

Fundamentals of Trap & Skeet Instructor

Adjunct, MA

jwhitehu@mineralarea.edu

Nathan Werremeyer

Athletic Trainer

Instructor

nwerreme@mineralarea.edu

Corey Tate

Head Men's Basketball Coach, Varsity Sports Instructor

Adjunct, BS

corey@mineralarea.edu     573-518-2229

Dennis Robinson

Tai Chi Instuctor, Physical Education Instructor

Adjunct, Doctorate

drobinso@mineralarea.edu   573-760-3120

Judy East

MAC Outreach Center, Potosi

judy@mineralarea.edu     573-438-3479

Mary Bauwens

MAC Outreach Center, Perryville

MA

swerner@mineralarea.edu     573-547-4143

Tracy Crider

MAC Outreach Center,Winona

tcrider@mineralarea.edu     573-325-8101 ext. 314

Brian Hanner

Wellness Center Instructor

MAC Outreach Center, Fredericktown

mepps@mineralarea.edu  573-783-4766

Stephanie Jenkins

Tap and Jazz Instructor, MA

sjenkins@mineralarea.edu

Michael Overman

Instructor, MA

moverman@mineralarea.edu

Tim Copeland

Instructor

tcopeland@mineralrea.edu

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Central High School (Dual Credit)

Jennifer Mills – M.A.

Wellness I & II

 

 

Physical Education Courses:

Course Description Instructor Information Course Page
PED 105 Off Sport Activities Mills    
PED 107 Fund. Basketball Tate    
PED 109 Fund. of Baseball      
PED 127 Care & Prevention AthI Injuries Werremeyer    
PED 200 L Basic Physical Fitness Potratz Law Academy  
PED 208 Beginning Golf Gans    
PED 213 Tai Chi Chuan Robinson    
PED 252 Modern Dance Propst    
PED 253 Modern Dance II Propst    
PED 255 Varsity Sports Tate    
PED 258 Varsity Sports Jones    
PED 265 Fund. of Trap & Skeet

Whitehurst

   
PED 265 L Fund. of Trap & Skeet

Schmitt

Law Academy  
PED 2682 Begining Jazz I Jenkins    
PED 2684 Begining Tap I Jenkins    
PED 2692 Begining Jazz II Jenkins    
PED 2693 Intermediate/Adv. Jazz I Jenkins    
PED 2694 Begining Tap II Jenkins    
PED 2695 Intermediate/Adv. Jazz II Jenkins    
PED 2696 Intermediate/Adv. Tap I Jenkins    
PED 2698 Intermediate/Adv. Tap II Jenkins    
PED 270 Wellness I Partney   MAC WC
PED 270 L Wellness I Flotron Law Academy  
PED 270 PE Wellness I Bauwens Perryville  
PED 270 FR Wellness I Epps Fredericktown  
PED 270 P0 Wellness I East Potosi  
PED 270 W Wellness I Crider Winona  
PED 271 Wellness II Partney   MAC WC
PED 271 PE Wellness II Bauwens Perryville  
PED 271 FR Wellness II Epps Fredericktown  
PED 271 P0 Wellness II East Potosi  
PED 272 Total Fitness Partney   MAC WC
PED 273 Cycling Ergometry Partney   MAC WC
PED 276 Strength Training Werremeyer    
PED 2780 Fit For Life Partney Web  
PED 284 Psych of Coaching & Human Performance Mills