publicsafety contacts alumni bookstore library calendar home
June 22-24: LTG play, "Laramie Project"
6/14/2017 1:00:00 AM
By: Sarah Haas, Communications Director

(PARK HILLS) – Mineral Area College’s Little Theatre Guild is getting ready to perform “The Laramie Project,” a dramatic play with a social message.

Doors open at 6:30 p.m. and performances are at 7 p.m. nightly, June 22-24, in the Fine Arts Theatre at the Park Hills Campus. Tickets are available at the MAC Bookstore or at the door on the night of the performances, and are $7 general admission, or $3 for MAC students and senior citizens.

“The Laramie Project,” is set in and around Laramie, Wyoming, in the aftermath of the murder of 21-year-old Matthew Shepard. To create the stage version of "The Laramie Project," the eight-member New York-based Tectonic Theatre Project traveled to Laramie, Wyoming, recording hours of interviews with the town's citizens over a two-year period. The film adaptation dramatizes the troupe's visit, using the actual words from the transcripts to create a portrait of a town forced to confront itself.

MAC Theatre Professor Chuck Gallaher said the play will speak to anyone living in a small town.

“One hate crime changed the outlook of not only the town, but the nationwide laws on hate crimes and homosexuality,” he said. “It’s a powerful play, remarkably acted. You should come see it.”

The cast list includes:

Bailey Jackson plays Eileen Eng/Reggie Fluty/Russell’s Mormon Teacher; Logan Shropshire plays Greg Pieretti/Aaron Kreifels/Conrad Miller/juror 5; Ethan Sago plays Narrator; Mia Gowen plays Rebecca Hilliker/Shannon; Mary Giles plays Marge Murray/Sherry Aanenson/Lucy Thompson; Sam Gallaher plays St. Hing/Jonas Slonaker/Phil labrie/Kerry Drake/Russell Henderson; Chuck Gallaher plays Doc O’Conner/Father Roger Schmit/Harry Woods/ Rulon Stacey; Zach Pinkley plays Philip Dubois/Stephen Belber/Doug Laws/ Cal Rerucha; David Orzel plays Jon Peacock/Stephen Mead Johnson/Judge/Rev. Fred Phelps; Christon Hahn plays Leigh Fondakowski/Kristin Price/Foreperson; Caitlyn Emert plays Reporter/Catherine Connolly/Minister’s Wife/; Rachel Gann plays Trish Steger/Anonymous/Newsperson 3/ Jacob Henderson plays Zackie Salmon/Newsperson 2/Priest/Balif; Sandra Szendrey plays Allison Mears/Zubaida Ula/Sherry Johnson; Danny Montgomery plays Jedadiah Schultz/Matt Galloway/Gil Engen/Andrew Gomez; Kevin Bohnenkamp plays Andy Paris/Shadow/Bill McKinney/Juror 6/Aaron McKinney; Haylee Gross plays Amanda Gronich/Waitress/; Frank Miller plays Baptist Minister/Jeffery Lockwood/Governor Geringier; Tiffany Evertt plays Romaine Patterson/Newsperson 4/Juror 2; Katie Vineyard plays Newsperson/Jen/Juror 1; Kaden Hoffman plays Barbara Pitts/Tiffany Edwards/Juror 3; Lucas Robinson plays Moises Kaufman/Matt Mickelson/Dr. Cantway/Murdock CooperJuror4//Dennis S.; Alexis Allender plays April Silva/Newsperson 1//Email Writer/.

Related Link: